Buying coins - discounts over Trends/CCN

General discussions about canadian coins.
michael

Buying coins - discounts over Trends/CCN

Post by michael » Sun Dec 01, 2013 9:53 pm

Hi - I'm new to the buying of coins for a collection. I have bought a few coins (mostly just large & small cents so far) from a coin shop, been fairly plaesed with the purchases and pleased to see taht his prices matched the prices in Canadian Coin News/Trends listings. This seemed appropriate to me anyway. But recently I've been reading posts from pepole saying that they usually expect to be able to pay 30-40% (or whatever) less than the Trends prices. Where are they finding these prices - or are they negotitaing with the coin shop dealer? Are the coin shop prices commonly negotiable? I wouldn't have expected that?

I am looking mostly at the F to XF grades, not MS. (so far :wink: )

Bill in Burl

Re: Buying coins - discounts over Trends/CCN

Post by Bill in Burl » Wed Dec 04, 2013 8:17 am

Most dealers (and shows) will offer 20-40% discounts ... always ask. Even a number of Ebay dealers will take less than expected early on in an auction or less than start price if they have made it too high.
Bill in Burl

michael

Post by michael » Wed Dec 04, 2013 10:35 am

OK - thanks Bill. It pays to ask here too! :) When would you expect 20 and when 40%? With a larger purchase, or do you specify you want, say 40%?

I have been noticing that the ebay auctions seem to go easily at or even above the Trends price, not a discount. Either that or my own ebay-grading skills are grading the coins lower than they are. I've been surprised that the prices run up higher than I expect them to be. Would you concur with that? I'm beginning to think I shouldn't expect to find any deals on ebay that easily.

Michael

Shylo

Post by Shylo » Sat Dec 07, 2013 9:41 pm