How'd you start in the hobby?

General discussions about canadian coins.
Gerryinthe6ix

How'd you start in the hobby?

Post by Gerryinthe6ix » Wed Sep 22, 2021 10:11 pm

Hi everyone. I’m a long-time collector who is new to this site. I’ve been collecting for over 50 years. I am curious how you got the bug. In my case, on my 8th birthday, my aunt (who had a huge U.S. collection) gave me a high grade 1900 “O” Morgan dollar. She told me if I took good care of it, she would give me another one on my next birthday. She told me about the mint marks and gave me some coin books to read. The following year she presented me with a near mint state 1884 “S” Morgan dollar that she said had a notable mint mark. As I grew more interested, she gave me a U.S. steel cent and some very early Lincoln cents. I was really interested in expanding my collection - that was comprised exclusively of coins I got out of circulation. To speed up the process, I would borrow $10, then $20, $50 from my finance manager (mom) and head to the bank and get rolls of pennies. I would spend days going through them making a point to keep the best five of every year I could find. I would then return the coins to the bank, offset the difference with my allowance. By the time I was 10, I had pretty well every small cent. The large cents were elusive to me so I shifted to nickels. My aunt would occasionally come by with rolls of dimes or nickels for me. In my early teens I discovered the “coin store”. Two places in my home town that sold coins. My first purchases were the large cents from the latter years. In my late teens I worked in a large supermarket and the head cashier would put old coins and bank notes away for me. That was a great source for my Devil’s head and replacement notes. Sadly I sold off most of my bills to fund my 20s lifestyle. I kept my focus on coinage. Fast forward, as I moved cities, changed careers, my collecting slowed down but I still checked my change. As I now near retirement, I wan