Canadian Coin Variety Book

General discussions about conservation and classification.
Kopper Ken

Canadian Coin Variety Book

Post by Kopper Ken » Sun Mar 04, 2018 9:03 am

Hello Group:

I'm new to the Canadian group but not new to collecting coins, about 50 years. I still have the PEI 1-cent from my youth. Is there a book or books that discuss Canadian varieties, not errors? :?: Perhaps maybe there is one for each series or value. Any suggestion or direction would be appreciated. :Prier: I do have Charlton. I took a look at CAC values for the 1858 1c and saw a number of varieties with references, but there was no listing for any source.

Thank you.

Ken S.
NYC-USA

PS: Hey I really feel Canadian now. Just got a Calgary born daughter-in-law. :Cowboy:

Bill in Burl

Re: Canadian Coin Variety Book

Post by Bill in Burl » Sun Mar 04, 2018 9:43 am

I would suggest that you follow the coin sites here to bone up on varieties. In the back of each year's Charlton is a section 60-100 pages of varieties for a certain denomination/monarch. Starting in 2011 65th edition, the variety sections were written by long-established collectors or a cadre of collectors, rather than dealers. So far, there has been Vicky large cents, nickel dollars, 50 cents and a few more. Look for used copies on Ebay or Amazon.

Jim Haxby has written a great die tracker's guide to all the 1859's: https://www.vickycents.com/prime.html and Rob Turner has written 4 great books that cover the 1858's, 1859/8's, 1890's, 1891's and 1894's and his book Dies and Diadems (which has the 1891's catalogued) gives a great run-down of the mintages from 1876-1901. All 4 should be kinda considered "bibles" for large cent collector libraries (expensive but well worth it). If you are into large cents, the 2011 65th edition is a MUST .. I was one of the co-authors.

Welcome to this site.
Bill in Burl

Bill in Burl

Post by Bill in Burl » Sun Mar 04, 2018 9:43 am