Canada's First Coinage - Articles on canadian coins - Coins and Canada

You are: Home » Canadian coins » Articles » Canada's First Coinage

Canada's First Coinage

By Library and Archives Canada    |   Monday, 29 March 2004

With the creation of the Dominion of Canada in 1867, the central government assumed responsibility for money and banking, as mandated under section 91 of the British North America Act, and it undertook to standardize the fledgling country's currency. Ottawa issued a new series of coins in denominations of 1, 5, 10, 25 and 50 cents (similar to the 1870 5-cent coin shown here). They were legal tender in the four provinces that signed the 1867 Confederation pact (Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia) and later in all provinces that subsequently joined the Dominion.

Dominion of Canada, 5 cents, 1870, reverse
Dominion of Canada, 5 cents, 1870, reverse

This article represents a portion of the the article titled Currency Museum of the Bank of Canada

Source : Library and Archives Canada

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our newsletter and stay updated.